Next week people will go to the polls to vote for who will represent them on Sutton Council.

Sutton Council is made up of 54 councillors with three members representing each ward around the borough.

At the last election in 2010 the Liberal Democrats retained control of the council with 48 per cent of the vote securing them 43 seats compared to the Conservatives' 11.

No other party won a seat although former Liberal Democrat Coun John Keys defected to Labour since then meaning there is one Labour seat.

There is also an independent councillor after Coun Stephen Fenwick was dropped by the Liberal Democrats following his conviction for racially aggravated assault.

The Sutton Guardian will be at the count at Westcroft Leisure Centre from 10pm providing build up, immediate results and reaction via this website and the Sutton Guardian twitter account - @suttonguardian.

Those who are registered to vote will receive polling cards in the post between May 18 and May 22, polling day.

To vote, you must take this card to your local polling station, which should be indicated on the card itself, between 7am and 10pm on polling day.

At the polling station, voters will be asked to vote for up to three representatives. Vote by putting an X in the box next to the name of your preferred candidate - you do not need to use three votes, that is a maximum.

Voting instructions are made clear on the polling card and there will be volunteers on hand to provide assistance but people have been asked to make sure they are not tempted to take photographs or 'selfies' in the polling station as this is against the law.

The poll takes place on the same day as the European election but is a completely separate vote.